This Drivers Education course is a South Dakota State approved program. All instructors are South Dakota State Certified Drivers Education Instructors. Who qualifies to take the Course: Students at least 14 years of age. It is highly recommended students have an Instruction Permit and have driven with a licensed individual prior to attending the course. Cost: $249. Payment and registration secures the spot in class. Course Description: Classroom - 30 hours of classroom instruction. Drive Time - 6 hours of instruction behind the wheel. The buddy system is practiced during driving portion, therefore a student may be in the vehicle 12 - 18 hours over a 6 - 8 week period of time. Please be patient with the instructors as they schedule drive time accommodating many student schedules as well as their own. If the instructor believes the student needs more behind-the-wheel experience than the six hours to pass, it will be arranged at an additional cost. Students should please bring paper and pen/pencil to class.Successful Completion: Students in the Drivers Education Program must pass both the written and the driving portion of the class with a minimum score of 80%. Successful completion will allow the student driver under 18 years of age to waive 90 days of the 180-day Instruction Permit required by law. Withdrawals and Refunds: Due to the limited enrollment in Drivers Education classes, a $20 processing fee will be charged for cancelling or rescheduling from the class. To cancel or reschedule, you must notify the Career Learning Center, 394-5120, at least 3 business days before the class begins.